Saturday, October 23, 2021
AdvertismentGoogle search engineGoogle search engine
HomePoliticsBommai's New cabinet

Bommai’s New cabinet


29 ministers swore in as the cabinet minister of Basavaraj Bommai

Big twists in cabinet formation BJP central leadership end all speculations non deputy chief ministers ,29 legislators had been sworn in as ministers on 4th August at Raj Bhavan in Bengaluru. The cabinet expansion took place after days of hectic discussions among the party leadership to finalize the list.

According to sources, there will be no Deputy Chief Minister in his Cabinet, unlike under B.S. Yediyurappa who had three.

Bommai got the new team of ministers exactly a week after he took oath as the chief minister.

The new ministers were administered the oath of office and secrecy by governor Thaawarchand Gehlot at the Raj Bhavan.

They include four former deputy chief ministers Govind Karjol, CN Ashwath Narayan, KS Eshwarappa and R Ashoka, and senior leaders Govind Karjol, JC Madhuswamy and V Somanna.

Others sworn in are: B Sriramulu, Murugesh Nirani, K Gopalaiah, Shashikala Jolle, S Angara, Kota Srinivas Poojari, CC Patil, Prabhu Chauhan, Shivaram Hebbar, K Sudhakar, MTB Nagaraj, ST Somashekar, Anand Singh, Byrathi Basavaraj, BC Patil, KC Narayana Gowda, V Sunil Kumar, Araga Jnanedra, BC Nagesh, Munirathna, Halappa Achar and Shankar Patil Munenakoppa.

Karnataka cabinet can have a maximum of 34 ministers. Bommai in his first round of expansion, has kept five posts vacant, perhaps to accommodate disgruntled MLAs later.

The BJP seems to have taken a cautious approach to the cabinet expansion. 23 of the 29 newly appointed ministers were in the previous Yediyurappa’s cabinet. Besides this, 6 new faces have made it to Bommai’s team.

Yediyurappa’s younger son BY Vijayendra too did not make it to the cabinet. The party’s central leaders, including BJP in-charge for Karnataka Arun Singh, had spoken to Mr. Yediyurappa and Mr. Vijayendra on this issue.

BJP has tried to balance caste equations. The dominant Lingayat and Vokkaliga communities got the lion’s share. The cabinet has 8 Lingayats, 7 Vokkaligas, 7 OBCs, 3 scheduled castes, 1 scheduled tribe, 1 from the reddy community and 1 woman.

According to sources, the party high command has formed the team keeping the next assembly and local body elections in mind. Mr. Bommai says that the new Cabinet had the blessings of the party’s central leadership, and mainly B.S. Yediyurappa.

Now, with the Bommai new team, balanced caste-wise let’s see what comes up to be its future functioning results and elections in the upcoming days.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

- Advertisment -
Google search engine
[td_block_1 custom_title=”Must Read” limit=”4″ f_header_font_transform=”uppercase” ajax_pagination=”next_prev” sort=”alphabetical_order” offset=”2″]